in

TunnelBear: A Free and Agile but Limited VPN

A free, easy and agile VPN service.

TunnelBear: A Free and Agile but Limited VPN
TunnelBear: A Free and Agile but Limited VPN

TunnelBear VPN free — VPNs may seem like complicated technology, crammed with low-level technical details that almost no one understands, but check out the TunnelBear website and you'll quickly realize that this service does things differently.

The Canadian company, owned by McAfee, doesn't drown you in jargon. It doesn't talk about protocols, doesn't mention types of encryption, and hardly uses any technical terms. Instead, the site focuses on the fundamentals, making it clear why you want to use a VPN in the first place.

TunnelBear Overview

TunnelBear is a public VPN service based in Toronto, Canada. It was created by Daniel Kaldor and Ryan Dochuk in 2011. In March 2018, TunnelBear was acquired by McAfee.

TunnelBear is the world's easiest-to-use VPN (virtual private network) for individuals and teams alike. A VPN (Virtual Private Network) creates a private network that you can use by encrypting your connection, even when using a public network.

TunnelBear works by allowing you to connect through an encrypted tunnel to locations around the world. Once connected, your real IP address remains hidden and you can browse the web as if you were physically located in the country you are connected to. 

TunnelBear can be used to protect your privacy, hide your real IP address, bypass internet censorship, and experience the internet like people in other countries do. 

TunnelBear: Secure VPN Service
TunnelBear: Secure VPN Service

Functionalities

A free TunnelBear client is available on Android, Windows, macOS, and iOS. It also has browser extensions for Google Chrome and Opera. It is also possible to configure Linux distributions to use TunnelBear.

Like other public VPN services, TunnelBear has the ability to bypass content blocking in most countries.

All TunnelBear clients use AES-256 encryption, except the client for iOS 8 and earlier, which uses AES-128. When logged in, the user's real IP address will not be visible to visited websites. Instead, websites and/or computers will be able to see the spoofed IP address provided by the service.

TunnelBear was one of the first consumer VPNs to conduct and publish the results of an independent security audit. The company logs when its users log on to the service and publishes annual reports on the number of times law enforcement has requested user information.

TunnelBear VPN has its own browser extensions. However, Blocker is an entirely separate tool, installable only on Chrome browsers. You don't even need an account to use it. Once added, it will display the number of trackers it has stopped.

Tunnelbear Free VPN has obfuscated GhostBear servers that use special algorithms to make your traffic look like normal non-VPN traffic. It helps you bypass blocks and get unlimited internet access.

TunnelBear has almost doubled the number of its servers and now has 49 countries. This collection covers the essentials and has expanded to encompass more of South America and Africa, two continents frequently overlooked by other VPN companies. 

TunnelBear on video

How to Use TunnelBear VPN – An In-Depth Guide on How to Use TunnelBear on All Devices

TunnelBear prices and offers

TunnelBear is one of the few services we reviewed that offers truly free VPN service. TunnelBear's free tier only limits you to 500MB of data per month, however. You can earn more data by tweeting about the company, which can increase your limit to a total of 1,5 GB for a month. You can repeat this process every month to receive the bonus. Paid options are also available:

  • Free: 500 MB/month
  • Unlimited: $3.33/month
  • Teams: $5.75/user/month

Available on…

  • Application for Windows
  • App for macOS
  • Android Application
  • iPhone app
  • macOS app
  • Extension for Google Chrome
  • Extension for Opera
  • Linux integration

alternatives

  1. PrivateVPN
  2. Hola VPN
  3. Opera VPN
  4. Firefox-VPN
  5. Windscribe VPN
  6. NoLagVPN
  7. Speed ​​VPN
  8. Forticent VPN
  9. NordVPN

Opinion & Verdict

This VPN is perfect for occasional use. Indeed, its free version only allows a volume of data exchanged of 500 MB (a tweet about the service can get you an additional 500 MB).

Here we appreciate the possibility of choosing your server from around thirty regions spread around the world (half of which are in Europe). TunnelBear is very user-friendly and the service does not keep connection logs.

Although TunnelBear's official stance is to not endorse unblocking streaming services, it seems to work, and I was able to unblock most media platforms I tried.

[Total: 11 Mean: 4.9]

Written by ReviewsEditors

The team of expert editors spends their time researching products, performing practical tests, interviewing industry professionals, reviewing consumer reviews, and writing all of our results as a understandable and comprehensive summaries.

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

What do you think?

385 Points
Upvote Downvote

in

TunnelBear : Un VPN Gratuit et Agile mais limité

Un service VPN gratuit, facile et agile.

TunnelBear : Un VPN Gratuit et Agile mais limité
TunnelBear : Un VPN Gratuit et Agile mais limité

TunnelBear VPN gratuit — Les VPN peuvent sembler être une technologie compliquée, bourrée de détails techniques de bas niveau que presque personne ne comprend, mais consultez le site Web de TunnelBear et vous comprendrez rapidement que ce service fait les choses différemment.

La société canadienne, détenue par McAfee, ne vous noie pas dans le jargon. Elle ne parle pas de protocoles, ne mentionne pas les types de cryptage et n’utilise pratiquement aucun terme technique. Au lieu de cela, le site se concentre sur les principes fondamentaux, en expliquant clairement pourquoi vous souhaitez utiliser un VPN en premier lieu.

Présentation de TunnelBear

TunnelBear est un service VPN public basé à Toronto, au Canada. Il a été créé par Daniel Kaldor et Ryan Dochuk en 2011. En mars 2018, TunnelBear a été racheté par McAfee.

TunnelBear est le VPN (réseau privé virtuel) le plus facile à utiliser au monde, tant pour les particuliers que pour les équipes. Un VPN (Virtual Private Network) créé un réseau privé que vous pouvez utiliser en cryptant votre connexion, même lorsque vous utilisez un réseau public.

TunnelBear fonctionne en vous permettant de vous connecter à travers un tunnel crypté à des endroits dans le monde entier. Une fois connecté, votre adresse IP réelle reste cachée et vous pouvez naviguer sur le web comme si vous étiez physiquement situé dans le pays auquel vous êtes connecté. 

TunnelBear peut être utilisé pour protéger votre vie privée, masquer votre adresse IP réelle, contourner la censure sur Internet et découvrir l’Internet comme le font les habitants d’autres pays. 

TunnelBear: Secure VPN Service
TunnelBear: Secure VPN Service

Fonctionnalités

Un client gratuit TunnelBear est disponible sur Android, Windows, macOS et iOS. Il dispose également d’extensions de navigateur pour Google Chrome et Opera. Il est également possible de configurer des distributions Linux pour utiliser TunnelBear.

Comme d’autres services VPN publics, TunnelBear a la capacité de contourner le blocage de contenu dans la plupart des pays.

Tous les clients de TunnelBear utilisent un chiffrement AES-256, à l’exception du client pour iOS 8 et antérieur, qui utilise AES-128. Lorsqu’il est connecté, l’adresse IP réelle de l’utilisateur ne sera pas visible pour les sites Web visités. En revanche, les sites web et/ou les ordinateurs pourront voir l’adresse IP usurpée fournie par le service.

TunnelBear a été l’un des premiers VPN grand public à réaliser et à publier les résultats d’un audit de sécurité indépendant. La société enregistre le moment où ses utilisateurs se connectent au service et publie des rapports annuels sur le nombre de fois où les forces de l’ordre ont demandé des informations sur les utilisateurs.

TunnelBear VPN possède ses propres extensions de navigateur. Cependant, Blocker est un outil entièrement distinct, installable uniquement sur les navigateurs Chrome. Vous n’avez même pas besoin d’un compte pour l’utiliser. Une fois ajouté, il affichera le nombre de trackers qu’il a arrêtés.

Le VPN gratuit Tunnelbear dispose de serveurs GhostBear obscurcis qui utilisent des algorithmes spéciaux pour faire en sorte que votre trafic ressemble à un trafic non VPN normal. Il vous aide à contourner les blocages et à obtenir un accès illimité à Internet.

TunnelBear a presque doublé le nombre de ses serveurs et compte désormais 49 pays. Cette collection couvre l’essentiel et s’est élargie pour englober davantage l’Amérique du Sud et l’Afrique, deux continents fréquemment ignorés par les autres sociétés VPN. 

TunnelBear en vidéo

Comment utiliser le VPN TunnelBear – Un guide approfondi sur la façon d’utiliser TunnelBear sur tous les appareils

Prix et offres de TunnelBear

TunnelBear est l’un des rares services que nous avons passés en revue qui offre un service VPN réellement gratuit. Le niveau gratuit de TunnelBear ne vous limite toutefois qu’à 500 Mo de données par mois. Vous pouvez gagner plus de données en tweetant sur l’entreprise, ce qui peut augmenter votre limite à un total de 1,5 Go pour un mois. Vous pouvez répéter ce processus chaque mois pour recevoir le bonus. Des formules payantes sont également proposées :

  • Gratuit : 500 Mo/mois
  • Unlimited : $3.33/mois
  • Teams : $5.75/utilisateur/mois

Disponible sur…

  • Application pour Windows
  • Application pour MacOS
  • Application Android
  • Application iPhone
  • Application macOS
  • Extension pour Google Chrome
  • Extension pour Opera
  • Intégration Linux

Alternatives

  1. Hola VPN
  2. Opera VPN
  3. Firefox VPN
  4. Windscribe VPN
  5. NoLag VPN
  6. Speed VPN
  7. Forticlient VPN
  8. NordVPN

Avis & Verdict

Ce VPN convient parfaitement pour un usage ponctuel. En effet, sa version gratuite n’autorise qu’un volume de données échangé de 500 Mo (un tweet à propos du service peut vous faire obtenir 500 Mo supplémentaires).

On apprécie ici la possibilité de choisir son serveur parmi une trentaine de régions réparties à travers le monde (dont la moitié en Europe). TunnelBear se montre très convivial et le service ne conserve pas de journaux de connexion.

Bien que la position officielle de TunnelBear soit de ne pas approuver le déblocage des services de streaming, cela semble fonctionner, et j’ai pu débloquer la plupart des plateformes médiatiques que j’ai essayées.

[Total: 11 Moyenne: 4.9]

Written by Reviews Editors

L'équipe d’éditeurs experts passe son temps à faire des recherches sur les produits, à effectuer des tests pratiques, à interviewer des professionnels de l’industrie, à passer en revue les commentaires des consommateurs et à rédiger tous nos résultats sous forme de résumés compréhensibles et complets.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

What do you think?

385 Points
Upvote Downvote