in ,

Account sharing: Netflix adds “Extra Home” fees and blocks use in other homes if you don't pay

Netflix is ​​charging extra homes as part of a test to prevent password sharing 🏠

Account sharing: Netflix adds “Extra Home” fees and blocks use in other homes if you don't pay
Account sharing: Netflix adds “Extra Home” fees and blocks use in other homes if you don't pay

Four months ago, Netflix began cracking down on password sharing by instituting an "additional member" fee for users who share their account with people they don't live with. These fees of around $2-3 per month have been applied in Chile, Costa Rica and Peru. Netflix said it was evaluating the rollout before making changes in other countries.

On Monday of this week, Netflix has announced another type of fee it will charge customers who share accounts. The new tariff requires that customers pay for “Extra Homes” and will be billed from August 22 in Argentina, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras.

“As of August 22, 2022, if your Netflix account is used on a TV outside your home, you will be charged an additional $2,99 ​​per month for each additional household. You will only be charged when you or someone using your account chooses to add an additional household – these charges will NOT be charged automatically,” indicated Netflix on its pricing page for Honduras.

The charge for each additional household is also $2,99 ​​per month in the Dominican Republic, El Salvador and Guatemala. In Argentina, the rate is 219 pesos per month (about 1,70 USD). Netflix is ​​apparently aiming for a wider rollout of one or more account sharing fees by the end of the year.

For the planned global rollout, Netflix hasn't said whether it will standardize on a single rate, give users a choice between home surcharges and member surcharges, or create another option. Netflix wants to "be as thoughtful as possible about how we charge for usage in multiple homes" and "won't make changes in other countries until we better understand what's easiest for our members," said the company in yesterday's announcement.

Due to slowing revenue growth, Netflix also plans to create an ad-supported tier in addition to the streaming service's current ad-free plans.

Update: Netflix said in the announcement for his results Tuesday that it now plans to roll out the ad-free plan and account sharing fees in 2023, with the ad-free offering slated for early 2023. 

Netflix extra homes fees
Netflix extra homes fees

TV will be blocked if you don't add the extra home to your Netflix account

An FAQ “ Netflix Homes clarifies that users "can watch Netflix on their laptop or mobile device while traveling" and "watch Netflix on a TV outside your home for up to two weeks, provided your account has not been used previously in this place. This is allowed once per location per year.”

Starting Aug. 22, customers connecting outside of their home "will see the option to add additional home for an additional cost per month" or use the two-week grace period, Netflix said. Earlier today, Netflix's FAQ contained a sentence stating that after the two-week grace period, "TV will be blocked unless you add an additional household", as you can see in this screenshot screenshot:

Netflix Extra Homes - Netflix adds fees and blocks use in other homes if you don't pay
Netflix Extra Homes – Netflix adds fees and blocks use in other homes if you don't pay

The sentence about blocking TVs has been removed, but it is still clear that customers will have to pay the fee to avoid being blocked in other homes. Netflix said it detects additional households using "information such as IP addresses, device IDs and account activity." To avoid messages that “too many households are using your account,” Netflix advises users to ensure that “the device is not connected to a VPN, proxy, or other unblocking service. »

Netflix is ​​adding an option to the user's account pages where they can "check which TVs or TV-connected devices are using your account by location, and sign out of your account from a location." » Disconnecting from a location disconnects all devices associated with that location.

Netflix will limit the number of additional households users can add based on their subscription plan. A Basic plan subscriber can add one additional household, a Standard plan subscriber can add up to two additional households, and Premium subscribers can add up to three additional households.

See also: +21 Best Free Streaming Sites Without an Account & Top: 25 Best Free Vostfr and Original Streaming Sites

Netflix's Basic, Standard, and Premium plans have monthly prices ranging from $7,99 to $13,99 in the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras. Prices range from $9,99 to $19,99 in the United States. The different tiers have pre-existing limits on how many people can watch simultaneously, but these are based on the number of screens rather than the number of slots.

[Total: 1 Mean: 5]

Written by Victoria C.

Viktoria has extensive professional writing experience including technical and report writing, informational articles, persuasive articles, contrast and comparison, grant applications, and advertisement. She also enjoys creative writing, content writing on Fashion, Beauty, Technology & Lifestyle.

Leave comments

Your email address will not be published.

What do you think?

385 Points
Upvote Downvote

in ,

Partage de compte : Netflix ajoute des frais “Extra Home” et bloque l’utilisation dans les autres maisons si vous ne payez pas

Netflix fait payer les maisons supplémentaires dans le cadre d’un test visant à empêcher le partage des mots de passe 🏠

Partage de compte : Netflix ajoute des frais “Extra Home” et bloque l'utilisation dans les autres maisons si vous ne payez pas
Partage de compte : Netflix ajoute des frais “Extra Home” et bloque l'utilisation dans les autres maisons si vous ne payez pas

Il y a quatre mois, Netflix a commencé à sévir contre le partage de mots de passe en instaurant des frais de « membre supplémentaire » pour les utilisateurs qui partagent leur compte avec des personnes avec lesquelles ils ne vivent pas. Ces frais d’environ 2 à 3 dollars par mois ont été appliqués au Chili, au Costa Rica et au Pérou. Netflix a déclaré qu’il évaluait le déploiement avant d’apporter des changements dans d’autres pays.

Lundi de cette semaine, Netflix a annoncé un autre type de frais qu’il facturera aux clients qui partagent des comptes. Le nouveau tarif exige que les clients paient pour des « Extra Homes » et sera facturé à partir du 22 août en Argentine, en République dominicaine, au Salvador, au Guatemala et au Honduras.

« À partir du 22 août 2022, si votre compte Netflix est utilisé sur un téléviseur en dehors de votre domicile, vous devrez payer un supplément de 2,99 $ par mois pour chaque foyer supplémentaire. Vous ne serez facturé que lorsque vous ou une personne qui utilise votre compte choisira d’ajouter un foyer supplémentaire – ces frais ne seront PAS facturés automatiquement », indique Netflix sur sa page de tarifs pour le Honduras.

Les frais pour chaque foyer supplémentaire sont également de 2,99 $ par mois en République dominicaine, au Salvador et au Guatemala. En Argentine, le tarif est de 219 pesos par mois (environ 1,70 USD). Netflix vise apparemment un déploiement plus large d’un ou plusieurs frais de partage de compte d’ici la fin de l’année.

Pour le déploiement mondial prévu, Netflix n’a pas précisé s’il allait standardiser un tarif unique, offrir aux utilisateurs le choix entre les frais supplémentaires pour la maison et les frais supplémentaires pour les membres, ou créer une autre option. Netflix souhaite « être aussi réfléchi que possible sur la façon dont nous facturons l’utilisation dans plusieurs foyers » et « ne fera pas de changements dans d’autres pays avant de mieux comprendre ce qui est le plus facile pour nos membres », a déclaré la société dans l’annonce d’hier.

En raison du ralentissement de la croissance de ses revenus, Netflix prévoit également de créer un niveau avec publicité en plus des plans sans publicité actuelle du service de streaming.

Mise à jour : Netflix a déclaré dans l’annonce de ses résultats mardi qu’il prévoit maintenant de déployer le plan sans publicité et les frais de partage de compte en 2023, l’offre sans publicité étant prévue pour le début de 2023. 

Frais Netflix extra homes
Frais Netflix extra homes

La télévision sera bloquée si vous n’ajoutez pas la maison supplémentaire à votre compte Netflix

Une FAQ « Netflix Homes » précise que les utilisateurs  » peuvent regarder Netflix sur leur ordinateur portable ou leur appareil mobile lorsqu’ils voyagent  » et  » regarder Netflix sur un téléviseur en dehors de votre domicile pendant deux semaines maximum, à condition que votre compte n’ait pas été utilisé précédemment dans ce lieu. Ceci est autorisé une fois par lieu et par an ».

À partir du 22 août, les clients qui se connectent en dehors de leur domicile « verront l’option d’ajouter le domicile supplémentaire pour un coût supplémentaire par mois » ou d’utiliser la période de grâce de deux semaines, a déclaré Netflix. Plus tôt dans la journée, la FAQ de Netflix contenait une phrase indiquant qu’après la période de grâce de deux semaines, « la télévision sera bloquée à moins que vous n’ajoutez un foyer supplémentaire », comme vous pouvez le voir sur cette capture d’écran :

Netflix Extra Homes - Netflix ajoute des frais et bloque l'utilisation dans les autres maisons si vous ne payez pas
Netflix Extra Homes – Netflix ajoute des frais et bloque l’utilisation dans les autres maisons si vous ne payez pas

La phrase concernant le blocage des téléviseurs a été supprimée, mais il est toujours clair que les clients devront payer les frais pour éviter d’être bloqués dans d’autres maisons. Netflix a déclaré qu’il détecte les foyers supplémentaires en utilisant « des informations telles que les adresses IP, les identifiants des appareils et l’activité du compte ». Pour éviter les messages indiquant que « trop de foyers utilisent votre compte », Netflix conseille aux utilisateurs de s’assurer que « l’appareil n’est pas connecté à un VPN, un proxy ou tout autre service de déblocage. »

Netflix ajoute une option aux pages du compte de l’utilisateur où il pourra « vérifier quels téléviseurs ou appareils connectés à un téléviseur utilisent votre compte par emplacement, et se déconnecter de votre compte depuis un emplacement. » La déconnexion d’un lieu entraîne la déconnexion de tous les appareils associés à ce lieu.

Netflix limitera le nombre de foyers supplémentaires que les utilisateurs peuvent ajouter en fonction de leur plan d’abonnement. Un abonné au plan de base peut ajouter un foyer supplémentaire, un abonné au plan standard peut ajouter jusqu’à deux foyers supplémentaires, et les abonnés Premium peuvent ajouter jusqu’à trois foyers supplémentaires.

Découvrez aussi : +21 Meilleurs Sites de Streaming Gratuits sans compte & Top : 25 Meilleurs Sites de Streaming Vostfr et VO gratuit

Les plans Basic, Standard et Premium de Netflix ont des tarifs mensuels allant de 7,99 $ à 13,99 $ en République dominicaine, au Salvador, au Guatemala et au Honduras. Les prix vont de 9,99 $ à 19,99 $ aux États-Unis. Les différents niveaux ont des limites préexistantes sur le nombre de personnes pouvant regarder simultanément, mais elles sont basées sur le nombre d’écrans plutôt que sur le nombre d’emplacements.

[Total: 1 Moyenne: 5]

Written by Viktoria C.

Viktoria has extensive professional writing experience including technical and report writing, informational articles, persuasive articles, contrast and comparison, grant applications, and advertisement. She also enjoys creative writing, content writing on Fashion, Beauty, Technology & Lifestyle.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.

What do you think?

385 Points
Upvote Downvote